Subnational Parliaments in the EU Multi-Level Parliamentary System

Subnational Parliaments and EU Integration: Taking Stock of the Lisbon Treaty. Foster Europe International Studies Series, Vol. 3. Innsbruck, 2015. 

This volume of the International Studies series is contributing to close a gap in the discourse on European integration and its actors that has for too long underestimated the role and the contribution of parliaments on subnational level in the EU processes. An element of increasing importance in the multi-level governance structure of the European Union will be added to the discourses in federal and integration and parliamentarism studies in Europe. While parliaments and governments on the national level as well as governments on the subnational level are well researched, this conference volume may spearhead the discourse on subnational parliaments in their role as EU actor. The thorough theoretical discussion of the topic as well as a self-critical research analysis will be extremely valuable for research and teaching federal and regional studies. 

All countries analysed in this volume are representative democracies embedded in the multi-level system of the European Union. An intense internal debate on developing the national democratic system within the EU-framework is common to most of the countries case-studied here.

Therefore the question if subnational parliaments qualify to improve the democratic legitimacy of the EU multi-level system is a key question to further develop a democratic integrative vison in the European Union.


Published: in 2015



Prof. Dr. Gabriele Abels, Jean Monnet Chair for European Integration; since 2007 she has a chair for comparative politics and European integration at the University of Tuebingen, DE

Auel, Katrin, Associate Professor at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Vienna, Department of Political Science, AT

Bursens, Peter, Jean Monnet Chair, Professor of political science, Antwerp Centre for Institutions and Multilevel Politics (ACIM), University of Antwerp, NL

Bußjäger, Peter, Professor at the Institute for Public Law, State and Administrative Science at the University of Innsbruck and Director of the Institute of Federalism, Innsbruck, AT

Castellà Andreu, Josep-Maria, Professor of Constitutional Law at the School of Law, University of Barcelona, E

Crum, Ben, Professor at the Department of Political Science of the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, NL

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Annegret Eppler, Assistant Professor for European Integration Studies at the University of Innsbruck, AT

Fossum, John Erik, Professor of Political Science at ARENA Centre for European Studies, University of Oslo, N

Große Hüttmann, Martin, Senior Lecturer (Akademischer Oberrat) at the University of Tübingen, Institute for Political Science, DE

Högenauer, Anna-Lena, Research Associate at the University of Luxemburg, Institute of Political Science, LUX

Kölling, Mario, Senior Researcher and Project coordinator at the Manuel Giménez Abad Foundation, E

Kropp, Sabine, Prof. Dr., Chair for German politics at the Free University of Berlin, Otto Suhr Institute of Political Science, DE

Kuby, Bert, Head of Unit at the EU Committee of Regions, B

Ladrech, Robert, Professor of European Politics at Keele University, School of Politics, International Relations and Philosophy, as well as Visiting Professor, College of Europe, Bruges, B

Maes, Frederic, Ph.D. candidate, Antwerp Centre for Institutions and Multilevel Politics (ACIM) and Policy Research Centre – Governmental organization – Decisive Governance, University of Antwerp, NL

Miklin, Eric, Assistant Professor of Austrian Politics in Comparative European Perspective at the University of Salzburg, Department of Political Science, AT

Nicolini, Matteo, Dr., Ph.D. in Italian and European Constitutional Law; Researcher at the Institute for Studies on Federalism and Regionalism, European Academy of Bolzano/Bozen; Assistant Professor for Comparative Public Law at the University of Verona, I

Patzelt, Werner J., Professor of Comparative Politics at the Institute of Political Science, University of Dresden, DE

Raunio, Tapio, Professor of political science, School of Management, University of Tampere, FIN

Reutter, Werner, Privatdozent Dr., University of Leipzig and Humboldt University Berlin, DE

Stahl, Gerhard, economist, former Secretary General of the EU Committee of the Regions, visiting professor at the College of Europe, Bruges, member of the Management Board of the Ifo-Research Institute, Munich, member of the Scientific Council of the Foundation for European Progressive Studies (FEPS), DE

Vara Arribas, Gracia, Lawyer and Expert at the European Institute of Public Administration, Barcelona (EIPA-Barcelona), E

Vileyn, Matthias, HR consultant, he wrote a dissertation on EU politics, federalism and democratic legitimacy at the Antwerp Centre for Institutions and Multilevel Politics (ACIM), University of Antwerp, NL